“God, Why Am I Doing This?”

A true story written by a sincere person just like many of you reading this. What’s it got to do with you? Only you can say. What’s it got to do with me? Well, in short, we all have these “goals” that the world teaches us we have to have. But if we surrender to the Highest Power, God, Creator of the universe asd ask Jesus into our hearts; I believe we too will come to the realization that what the world wants for us is actually troublesome and conflicting. God promised us that we would have a light burden (Matt 11:28-30 KJV).

I personally have found much stress from and in the world ALL because I decide many years ago to try and run with the world. I’m sure we have all felt the many let downs from this world that we all experience and still as the saying goes, “never give up.” However, we never look at what we can do differently. Einstein stated that (paraphrase), “A man that does the same thing over and over again expecting different results, borders on the insane.” I knew a man, a minister who called what we do in and for the world as “the school of hard knocks;” of which we do not have to experience. There is another way.

I know some who see the name “Jesus” immediately will be turned off. Why? Many because they have had many diverse and false doctrines of the world intersect with truths from the Word of God and mixed with those worldly “goals” I mentioned above, well, it complicates our direction. For me, it wasn’t until I gave up on the world and instead decided to work for ONLY God, that my own path was set, and,…..the stress left. I believe that this following story reflects what we have all wished we could discover,…life 101, who, what, when, where and why. “…ofthestory.”

write_life

God, Why Am I Doing This?

“Like most people, I’ve had my triumphs and my tribulations in my 51 years. But from a very early age, I examined the circumstances of my life. On the one hand, I was born a white, Protestant (anti-catholic) male in the most privileged and powerful yet moral civilization ever on Earth. I was born at the dawn of the technological age (I’ve been waiting all my life for the internet), where information was at my beck and call. These advantages make me a member of a group that is potentially unique in human history. On the other hand, my father died when I was six, after having his first stroke at age 39 when I was four. His inability to work and increasing mental deficiency, in a neighborhood where I was the youngest out and about, opened me to a lot of ridicule from other kids. My mother proceeded to remarry and be re-widowed two more times over the next 13 years, enhancing her trend into mental illness and alcoholism, which everyone in my family has (except me and my kids, thank God). My brother was discovered to be a sexual predator. I broke my back when I was twenty.

With the two hands of my life such a dichotomy, I wondered throughout childhood what God had in mind for me. When I gave my heart to the Lord Jesus; it occurred to me that God would be equipping me at this pivot in history to do something extremely critical and important. When young I thought it was to be a soldier, a valorous, but noble, American soldier. The quagmire of Viet Nam made it clear that was not my venue.

Life happens while you’re making plans, and I married and fathered children, pursued a career, and became a Scout leader (Yeah, The Boy Scouts). I was about 8 years in as a Scoutmaster, when one day I was sitting alone at a picnic table at summer camp, watching my Troop do it’s thing, and do it well. I seem to have a real aptitude for Scoutmastering, probably because I love it so much. The old thought came to me, what was I supposed to do with my life? Suddenly it was revealed to me: This was what I was supposed to do with my life! My calling was to be a Scout leader (seriously!).

Now, I’m a little skeptical of anyone who tells me God speaks to them personally (especially when they want money because of it or if they tell me I need their books to make my life work), but one day, sitting in the Scoutmaster’s lounge at camp, about ten of us were having honesty time. One SM said: “If it hadn’t been for me becoming a Scoutmaster, I’d be nothing but a drunk!” A few more similar comments came forth from the group, and I decided to reveal my calling by God to be a Scouter. To my complete surprise, everyone in the room nodded their heads in understanding. They had all had the same experience!

Some days I wish God had called me to be a taste tester at Ben & Jerry’s, but whatta ya gonna do?”

Mort Skipper, Scoutmaster,

Maybe you are not sure what you’re suppose to be doing…….then again; maybe you’re doing it already. It’s the simple things in life, the things that don’t seem too big to others, but make a world of difference in the lives of a small few. Have another look at the world around you- your future is not composed of trying to get more money, to learn more ways on how to get money, etc. You have a calling on your life that trumps all worldly educations or seemingly important positions.

Leave a Reply

