At The Foot of The Cross

cross_Jesus

Fearing the battle was over
And I’d already lost the war,
I was tired of trying and failing.
I just couldn’t fight anymore.

So, dragging my battle-scarred body,
I crawled to the foot of the cross.
And I sobbed. ‘Oh please, Father forgive me.
But I tried…I tried.. and still lost.’

Then the air grew silent around me.
I heard his voice just as clear as the dawn:
‘Oh, My child, though you are tired and weary,
You can’t stop, you have to go on.’

At the foot of the Cross , where I met Him,
At the foot of the Cross, where He died,
I felt love, as I knelt in His presence .
I felt hope, as I looked in His eyes.

Then He gathered me lovingly to Him,
As around us God’s light clearly shone.
And together we walked though my lifetime
To heal every wound I had known.

I found bits of my dreams, long forgotten ,
And pieces of my life on the floor.
But I watched as He tenderly blessed them,
And my life was worth living once more.

I knew then why I had been losing.
I knew why I had not grown.
At the foot of the Cross came the answer:
I’d been fighting the battle alone .

At the foot of the Cross, where I met Him,
At the foot of the Cross, where He died,
Then I knew I could face any challenge
Together–just my Lord and I.

Rom 5:6 For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.

Eph 2:16 And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity thereby:

1 Cor 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

cross_Jesus_2

4 thoughts on “At The Foot of The Cross

  1. I’m trying to find out if the picture of a man kneeling before Jesus at the cross at the top of this page with the sunset in the background is available for purchase. I haven’t been able to find the owner of this picture yet and was hoping that you might have more information. I have a family member who suffers from depression that really likes this photo. I’m hoping to surprise him with a framed copy of this picture. Thank you for any information you might be able to share and God bless.

  2. Hello, I am in a similar situation as above. I want to know if it ok to use the picture on a background to song pro in church, also a friend in church has seen the image and wants to know if it can be purchased please, it is lovely,
    Thanks for all you do.
    Julia

    • I don’t copyright anything here; however, from time to time I do use parts from other people’s work in accordance with the Fair Use Act. As for pictures, most of them here, I make or alter an original. Feel free to copy and share anything from my page . Praise God!!!!

Leave a Reply

