Having a Good Morning?

morn

On his way to church, a scholar was surprised to see a man in tattered clothes and barefoot. Nevertheless, as a good Christian, he greeted the poor man: “May God give you a good morning!”

The poor man replied cheerfully, “I have never yet had a bad morning.”

“Then may God give you good luck!”

“I have never yet had bad luck.”

“Well, may God give you happiness!”

“I have never yet been unhappy.”

The scholar then asked the man, “Could you you please explain yourself to me? I do not understand.”

And the poor man replied, “With pleasure! You wish me a good morning, yet I have never had a bad morning. For when I am hungry; God feeds me, I praise God; when I feel cold; God gets me warmed, or when it is raining or snowing; I am get dried and made pleasant, I praise God; and that is why I have never had a bad morning.

“You wish that God may give me luck. However, I have never had bad luck. This is because I live with God and always feel what He does for me is the best. Whatever God sends me, it’s enough and more to get me through the days ahead, I accept His help with a grateful heart. That is why I have never had bad luck.

“Finally, you wish that God should make me happy. But I have never been unhappy. For all I desire is to know and follow God’s will and so I do; I have surrendered my will so totally to God’s will that, whatever God wants good for me, that is what I also want.

“That is why I have never been unhappy.

Are YOU, having a good morning?

Luke 12:22-33,34 (KJV)

22 “And he said unto his disciples, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat; neither for the body, what ye shall put on. The life is more than meat, and the body is more than raiment. Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap; which neither have storehouse nor barn; and God feedeth them: how much more are ye better than the fowls? And which of you with taking thought can add to his stature one cubit?

If ye then be not able to do that thing which is least, why take ye thought for the rest? Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. If then God so clothe the grass, which is to day in the field, and to morrow is cast into the oven; how much more will he clothe you, O ye of little faith? And seek not ye what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink, neither be ye of doubtful mind.

For all these things do the nations of the world seek after: and your Father knoweth that ye have need of these things. But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you. Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom…..”

34 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

 

Leave a Reply

