Homebound (poem)

homebound

My days are long in this old rocking chair…
I no longer can wonder out, I do not dare.
My heart is sad, my body is worn out….
They say they care, but this I doubt.

Nobody comes over, nobody calls…
So all I can do is sit and stare at the walls.
I wait and wonder if the phone will ring….
I wish it would, oh how my heart would sing.

Just a knock at the door, someone to say hi…
Would give me such happiness….
Will it happen? Please don’t make me cry.

I use to go to church, when I could stand…
People smiled at me and shook my hand.
They professed to love, and live by “THE BOOK”…
Now how they treat me, just take a look.

I hope they never get to the situation I’m in…
It’s terrible when you’re forced to be a shut in.
The days are long, sometimes the nights too…
I pray to God, for His love I know is true.

I try to remember Jesus, what You went through…
And I hold no grudge but it still makes me blue….
I remember on Calvary, what You did for me…
And I promise Lord to always honor Thee.

So as you once prayed, I will too….
Forgive them Father, they know not what they do.

Credit: Lona R.

Rev 3:2 “Be watchful, and strengthen the things which remain, that are ready to die: for I have not found thy works perfect before God.”

Mk 16:18 “They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.”

 

Leave a Reply

