I Have Solitude (Poem)

I used to seek a crowd to find delight,

and this they gave me- laughter and brief song,

Bright powdered wings that dusted off in flight,

And bubbled-beauty , nothing lasting long,

But once I found the pathway down my heart:

A dim, but not often traveled way; I had not known,

I walked it timidly, a thing apart,

Overjoyed that I found myself alone with God. . .

And now I seek that beautiful retreat,

And find such cool, deep peace, such sheer delight:

Cold springs of water welling at my feet,

White flowers by day, white guiding stars by night.

The old crowd’s laughter falls upon my ear;

I am exploring, and I do not hear. . . I have Solitude.

Leave a Reply

